Board of Directors
You are: Home > About Us > Board of Directors

Board Members

Prof Saul Tendler

Chairman/ Director


Saul is the Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Provost of the University of York. He has executive oversight of the effective delivery and co-ordination of the University’s academic strategy and planning activities. He contributes to policy and strategy formulation and ensures the effective resourcing, management, and future strategic direction of the University.

Professor Tendler has significant experience of research and technology transfer. He was a founding director of Molecular Profiles Ltd. He has served on many funding council and research council boards and committees and was Chair of the MRC/BBSRC/EPSRC Discipline Hopping Panel. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, and was designated a Fellow of the Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain in 2000.


Alan Millard


Alan was the Chief Operations Officer for Hiscox UK from 2005 to 2017, responsible for the companies 2020 strategy, all organisational initiatives and projects along with all operations. He was also the Chairman and Chief Executive of the Hiscox Underwriting subsidiary and Hiscox Futures.

He currently sits on the board of a range of organisations, including The Table Group and DueDil, and lecturing on Innovation and Ethical Leadership at York St Johns University. 


David Key



David is the Managing Director of E Squared Group, creating business software to empower teams to deliver enterprise-wide, positive change. Their flagship product, Isoma, is utilises their unique Kinetic Code to accelerate change and increase competitive advantage.

He was previously Managing Director of Steljes Markets, the marketing and innovation arm of Steljes Group, and prior to this he was the Managing Director of Brand New Ventures, his own technology marketing business. 

Jenny McAleese



Jenny is a lay member of the Audit Committee of the Joseph Rowntree Foundation and Non-Executive Director of York Teaching Hospital NHS Foundation Trust. Until July 2017 she was a Pro-Chancellor and lay member of Council at the University of York.

Jenny studied at Oxford, and later qualified as a Chartered Accountant, going on to be appointed Finance Director and subsequently Chief Executive of The Retreat from 1997 to 2015. 


Jon Greenwood



Jon is the Director of Commercial Services at the University of York, and is responsible for income generation for the University of York through a range of streams, including conferencing, catering, hospitality, retailing, accommodation sales and sports facilities. Jon also sits on the board of several spin out companies and student startups.

Jon specialises in retail development, change management negotiation, company start up, marketing, business consultancy and cost analysis. 


Philip Callow



Philip is the Head of Asset and Property Management at the City of York Council, where he heads up the team which manages the Council’s operational and commercial property portfolio. He is the lead representative on the One Public Estate programme, and the property team representative on the Council’s major projects, including York Central, Southern Gateway and Local Plan. 


Michael Slade

Financial Controller


Michael is the Management Accountant for the VAT and Companies office of the University of York. His role includes the preparation of VAT returns for the University of York, the provision of VAT advice to departments and the administration of Pension Funds including the preparation of annual accounts. 


Space for your business
Why York Science Park?
Your conference or meeting
Events at York Science Park