News Archive
You are: Home > News & Events > News Archive > York Design Awards
Wed 26th March
York Design Awards
Insurance company Hiscox has stepped in as the main sponsor of the York Design Awards, securing the future of the awards for the next three years.

Each year, the awards celebrate the very best of building design in a city famed for its architecture.

Winners last year included the restored Holgate windmill; the city council’s new West Offices HQ; and Nestlé’s new product technology centre.

The first phase of the Derwenthorpe development, meanwhile, won the Press People’s Award category voted for by readers of The Press.

The aim of the awards is to encourage the very best of design in both new buildings and restorations in York.

Hiscox UK and Europe managing director Steve Langan said his company was delighted to be able to support them. “York has a rich architectural history and the York Design Awards help celebrate the next step on the city’s architectural journey,” he said.

“As a business, we are developing our own landmark building in the Hungate area of the city and that has given us a deep understanding of the area’s design heritage. I look forward to seeing some of the other architectural gems that the city has to offer in this year’s York Design Awards, and beyond.”

There were more than 30 entries in all for last year’s awards, across a number of categories. Entries ranged from the Derwenthorpe development to the renovation of the St Martin’s Church clock in Coney Street (joint winner with Holgate Windmill of the John Shannon Conservation Award) and Acomb Green (winner of the landscape award).

This year’s awards have now officially been launched. As usual, a panel of expert judges will visit each entry, before a winner is announced at an awards ceremony in the city on June 23.

Janet Hopton, the former Lord Mayor of York who chairs the York Design Awards’ management committee, said the awards were entirely dependent on sponsorship to keep going. “We are naturally delighted that Hiscox has agreed to be lead sponsor for the next three years, securing the future of the awards programme until 2017,” she said.

Other sponsors of the awards this year include York Civic Trust, York Guild of Building and York Conservation Trust, City of York Council and O’Neill Associates.

• To find out more about the York design Awards, visit

Space for your business
Why York Science Park?
Your conference or meeting
Events at York Science Park